And So It Begins…

I’ve been contemplating making  some changes for awhile, but I couldn’t quite figure out what those changes needed to be. A few months ago I stood in our dining room, looking at everything around me and I declared, “we have too much crap!” It was the first of many occasions that I realized, pondered, or thought about the fact the the “crap” was taking over. Yesterday, I decided that enough was enough. I started seriously making real changes.

I’m tired of looking in a closet full of clothes but having “nothing to wear”. I’ve had it with looking around my house full of things and having “nothing to do”. And, I’m appalled at looking in cupboard full of food but finding “nothing to eat”. It all needs to change; so I’m finally taking steps to make it happen. I have started with myself. I did some research (there are some great blogs out there) and got to work. I went through my closet, dresser and night stand. I also went through some of the kitchen cupboards. I ended up with a trunk full of stuff to take to Goodwill. It is a small dent, but a dent none the less. I plan to make my way through the entire house, tackling one room at a time.

Becoming minimalist won’t happen overnight and I’m not even entirely sure what my definition of minimal is yet, but I’ve begun the journey. I plan to use this blog as a journal of sorts. I think it will keep me motivated and who knows, maybe it will inspire others who crave more life and less stuff.

One thought on “And So It Begins…

  1. I did the same thing and one persons story led me to the “Three Bin Method” You take three bins and as you come across something you throw it into one of the bins. One bin is KEEP, one is DONATE, and one is TRASH. She was great at telling me to keep the bins for one week or longer and before you donate or throw away you go through again. I now keep one bin downstairs and just throw stuff in as I come across it. Then before I donate I go through it again. Just in case. Good luck and you will not regret it. .

Leave a Reply

