Becoming Minimalist Is Like Peeling An Onion

onion

As I’ve been sorting through the accumulated “crap” in my house, I’ve decided it’s like peeling an onion. There are a couple of reasons I’ve come to this conclusion.

First, becoming minimalist is going to happen in “layers”. I’m almost finished with my first trip through the house eliminating things that I don’t need, but it’s the first of several necessary purges. I’ve only peeled off the first layer. Here’s an example of what I mean: I took 8 vases to Goodwill yesterday, but I still have 6 in the cupboard. It’s a success, I am living with less, but I still have more than I need. On the next trip through, I’m sure I’ll be able to part with a couple more vases. And thus, peel off another “layer”.

When you peel away the layers of an onion, it gets smaller but it’s still an onion. Removing the layers doesn’t change it’s texture, flavor or aroma; it only changes its size. That’s what happens when we minimize what we live with. It’s still my life, my home. It has the same flavor, texture, and “aroma”. I still love it, I might even love it more (but it’s a little too early in the process to know for sure). One thing I am certain of; it’s still my onion, and I love onions!

 

P.S. I realize there is an analogy for crying while you peel an onion, but honestly, I haven’t really been sad yet. Maybe, I’ll be able to relate to that parallel further into the journey.

2 thoughts on “Becoming Minimalist Is Like Peeling An Onion

  1. I love this! I do not like onions but rather apples. Same analogy will work I suppose. You are right about so much, I too had so many vases left from the girls weddings and I kept every single one. Why? Memories maybe but then I let some go……it didn’t hurt. Let some more go…….that didn’t hurt. Ok, this isn’t as bad as I thought it would be! Keep going and keep blogging! I love hearing you!

Leave a Reply

