Empty Nest

“Why are you sad about this? We haven’t done dishes in 3 days and the dishwasher isn’t even full! How is that a bad thing?”

“It’s not about the lack of dishes. It’s about the people who normally create the dirty dishes being absent.”

“You’re impossible to please sometimes. Yesterday, I commented on the fact that the house was so peaceful and quiet and you almost cried. What happened to the person that was always asking people to turn down the music and shut the bedroom door because it was so noisy?”

“That person misses the people that make the noise, not the noise. Why is this so hard for you to understand? I want it quiet sometimes, not all the time.”

“You used to always complain that the house was messy, and now that its clean you look around at it and seem dissatisfied with the tidiness. I thought you wanted it to look this way. I’m sure you can understand my confusion.”

“I do like the house to be clean, but when I look around and find everything in it’s place, it reminds me of two things that aren’t where I want them to be. If they were here, there would be evidence of it lying around. It just makes me miss them. And no, I really don’t understand why this confuses you, but you certainly confuse me.”

“This conversation is getting us nowhere and I’m done talking to you. I’m going to bed.”

“I’m going to bed too. You are very frustrating. Make sure you stay on your side of the brain so I can get some rest!”

Leave a Reply

