Grateful

It’s November and everybody is starting to think about gratitude, I am no exception. I have so many things to be thankful for; my family, my home, my freedom. These are all big things that I am grateful for on a regular basis. Every time I see one of my daughters smile, I am grateful for their presence in my life. When I pull into my driveway after a long day, I’m thankful to have a place to call home. But what about the little things, the small blessings; those I can easily overlook during my busy day. I am working on changing that. So here are some of the little things I am thankful for today:

This is the view from my front door today.

This is the view from my front door today.

The snow

It came early, it is cold, but it is lovely. As you can see from the picture above, winter has come early to my part of the world. I am not a huge fan of winter, but it does have it’s perks. There is nothing cozier than sitting by the fire drinking hot cocoa and watching the snow fall. Children FREAK OUT when it snows. They get so excited to go enjoy it; I’m trying to learn from the example of children and share their joy. I am grateful for snow.

Staying Home

It’s snowing. Driving in snow sucks! And I didn’t have to do it today. I live quite a way from the university; it takes me forty minutes to get there on a good day and on a day like today, it would have taken well over an hour. On top of that, it would have been a stressful drive too. I have a fantastic supervisor who values my safety over my presence on a day like today, and he allowed me to work from home. I am grateful for staying home (and my boss).

WiFi and Remote Access

I have internet and the ability to access the university’s servers remotely, which means there is very little I cannot do when I am offsite. Because of this, I can actually get plenty of work done and I don’t have to use any vacation or personal time to  make up for staying home today. I am grateful for technology.

The Hot Water Kettle

Hot water, what a blessing! I put water in the kettle, turn it on and in a matter of minutes I have hot water for french press coffee, tea, or cocoa. It’s wonderful. It’s a blessing just to have water that is clean and easily accessible, but I can have hot water at the flick of a switch. I am grateful for my kettle.

I could go on and on. The firewood, the wood stove, the music playing in the background; you get the idea. These are all things that are easily overlooked and alone they seem small, but it’s the small blessings that make up most of the big blessings in life. I don’t want to miss opportunities to be grateful any longer, so I’m going to pay attention to these little things and hopefully improve my attitude and outlook in the process (it’s hard to be grumpy and grateful at the same time).

So, what are you grateful for today?

Leave a Reply

