Life in the Mitten–#SnowWhiteProbs

In an earlier post, I promised to share about life here in West Michigan; including the weird things that happen. Well, here is the first of what I’m sure will be many weird tales.

With the onset of spring, nature wakes up; and this awakening includes an increase in animal activity. It’s a good thing and I’m happy to see it happen, but today it just got weird. I live in the country, so I’m always on the look out for deer but they usually aren’t too active between sunrise and dusk.Today they were. Four deer ran out in front of my car on my way to work and then to add some extra excitement a little further down the road, a large hawk swooped down in font of my car and startled me. Neither event is terribly surprising but they did get my heart beating a little faster and made me a little more “eagle-eyed”. It got weird after I reached my destination.

It’s a crazy busy Monday for me and I had a lot to get done first thing this morning, which means I needed coffee. I work at a small private university, so after I arrived at my office I walked across campus to the coffee shop. There are lots of birds returning to Michigan, and several of them call our campus home. I love seeing them and hearing them after such a long cold winter. Apparently, along with singing and nesting, they play tag. Two little finches or some other small bird, were chasing each other and not paying attention to where they were going. As I was walking down the sidewalk, minding my own business, they smacked right into the side of my head. I’ve never been hit in the head by a bird before, and I’d prefer that it doesn’t happen again. I suppose I should be grateful that they just accidentally bumped into me and it wasn’t a full on attack.

All these animal encounters have left me feeling like a less popular version of Snow White. The animals don’t want to hang out with me and listen to me sing, they want to pull pranks on me and see if they can throw me off my game.  I mean, who gets hit in the head by two birds! I’m a little leery of venturing back outside and driving home this evening; who knows what else the animal kingdom has planned for me. But I will be going out again today, It’s going to be 65 degrees and sunny in Grand Rapids, and that hasn’t happened in a long, long time. No furry or feathered creatures can stop me!

Leave a Reply

